papers relating to the national development of the country are likely to follow at an early period. A new departure of the Archives Office is the collection of a large number of prints illustrating events in the life of the country and of portraits of the men who have taken leading parts in its affairs. The annual appropriation is \$50,000.

General thanksgiving.

Thursday, October 31, was appointed by proclamation of the Governor General as a day of general thanksgiving to Almighty God for the bountiful harvest and other blessings with which Canada has been favoured during the year.

Armorial ensigns for the province of Alberta.

By royal warrant of May 30, directed to the Duke of Norfolk, K.G., G.V.O., earl marshall and hereditary marshall of England, there was granted to the province of Alberta, to be borne on seals, shields, banners, flags or otherwise according to the Laws of Arms, the armorial ensigns following: 'Azure in front of a Range of Snow Mountains proper a Range of Hills Vert, in base a Wheat-field surmounted by a Prairie both also proper, on a Chief Argent, a St. George's Cross. All the nine provinces of the Dominion of Canada have now their appropriate heraldic emblems.

The Senate.

Three vacancies in the Senate occurred by the resignation of the Hon. Sir J. R. Gowan, K.C.M.G., and the deaths of the Hon. Sir William Hingston and the Hon. C. F. Casgrain. New Senators appointed and sworn in during the year were the Hon. John Costigan, of Edmundston, N. B., the Hon. G. W. Ross, of Toronto, the Hon. Robert Beith, of Bowmanville, Ontario, the Hon. Daniel Gilmour, of St. George, N. B., the Hon. A. H. Commeau, of Meteghan River, N. S., the Hon. G. C Dessaulles, of St. Hyacinthe, Quebec, the Hon. N. A. Belcourt, K.C., of Ottawa, the Hon. Archibald Campbell, of Toronto Junction, and the Hon. Daniel Derbyshire, of Brockville, Ontario.

House of Commons. Twelve vacancies occurred in the House of Commons during the year, and the following members were elected to fill them, viz.: the Hon. Jacques Bureau, for three Rivers and St. Maurice, Quebec, Pius Michaud, for Victoria, N. B., R. C. E. Laurier, for L'Assomption, Quebec, Adélard Lanctot, for Richlieu, Quebec, the Hon. G. P. Graham, for Brockville, Ontario, the Hon. Wm. Pugsley, for St. John City and County, N. B., Thomas Beattie, for London, Ontario, C. L. Owen, for Northumberland East, Ontario, A. M. Martin, for Wellington North, Ontario, C. B. Major, for Labelle, Quebec, J. B. T. Caron, for Ottawa, and John Stanfield, for Colchester, N.S.

Obituary notes. The following deaths occurred during the year. Dec. 28, 1906. Charlemagne Laurier, M.P. for L'Assomption, Quebec. Jan. 1, 1907. The Hon. Sir William P. Howland, K.C.M.G., C.B., aged 96. Jan. 10. The Hon. C. C. Colby, President of the Council, 1889–1891. Jan. 25. The Hon. Andrew G. Blair,